Skip to content

Psyche’s Flashlight #3, the cheap, Xerox zine version

June 20, 2011 11:04 am

… work in progress …

OK, so this issue is absurdly late, and I didn’t have the opportunity to solicit entries as much as I’d have liked. So, I’m linking to posts that I think are among the best for the month of May, and not even asking for permission, for the most part. They seem to be striking chords with me on various aspects of life with mental illness …

Differently at Ramblings of the differently sane encounters the Thief in the Night…m “… mental illness, the discrimination and the attitudes towards it” that take away our humanity.

The Doc at A Friend to Yourself genuinely celebrates the Sisyphian nature of everyday challenges in We Try Knowing We Will Fail. The Wonderful Journey Of Flawed People. She may sound like Camus with extra helpings of puppy dogs and rainbows, but I still want to get me some of that resilience.

Lo at The Separate Room considers the structure and interior decoration of the Therapy room. What does it mean that your therapist has a couch instead of a chair? A large expanse of nothing but carpet between the healer and the patient? These are questions worth asking, and I’m glad Lo has brought it to my attention.

Bipoblogger wonders if the changes she has seen in herself are leading to Separaration From True Normalcy.

In the beginning of May, the ghost of Van gogh published an interesting interview on Asylum 13 Riots: How Art Helps Brent Dewell Express His Inner State and Cope with Bipolar Disorder. (No need for commentary, the title is very clear.)

If you have a post you are proud of, something you believe is worth sharing, or if you would like me to pick one for you, we are now open for submissions to Psyche’s Flashlight #4. Any post in the month of June that deals with mental illness, especially from the patient’s or sufferer’s point of view, is eligible. It will be published sometime in July.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2011 4:57 pm 4:57 pm

    thank you – and permission is granted with no time limits, honoris causa!

    • July 16, 2011 8:53 am 8:53 am

      Thank you! I will definitely make use of your permission, Lo!

  2. June 22, 2011 6:02 pm 6:02 pm

    I am totally laughing over your “introduction”. Snicker. I u still get me to say thanks. Thanks u big sweetie. Puppy-love coming your way.

Leave a comment